The Hours are Ticking Away…

It’s almost here, the hour or more of signing paper after paper. So many papers that we’ve been told we won’t care what they say after the first ten minutes. I suppose I’m nervous for this gigantic step into adulthood. Nervous, but not too nervous. I’m more excited than anything, and it’s not even so much for the house itself (although, that is cool), it’s for the lifestyle we will have with the house.

I’ll finally have the space to set up my music gear and leave it set up. So, when I want to hide away and mess around I can just go upstairs and do that. Until now the set up time involved was generally enough distraction to shrivel any inspiration I may have had.

I’ll be able to ride my bike any place I may want to go. This might seem kind of silly but I’ve missed that bit of childhood where my friends were close and we could just pedal here, there and everywhere. Maynard is a small town and everything is easily reached on a bike. I also have a hope that this will chip away at this gut that I have been developing.

The biggest reason I’m excited for this move is simply that we are saying “Goodbye” to Fitchburg. It’s funny because Fitchburg’s shortcomings never really bothered me until I knew I was leaving. Now, every time I go out I see something that bothers me a bit. Stuff like, seeing needles on the ground when I go for walks or jogs, all the trash in the street and outside the house that never gets cleaned up or just the general lack of care for much of anything in the community. And I honestly can’t say that Maynard doesn’t have these problems or others but, as an outsider, I haven’t seen it. Yet.

So there it, and here it comes. I can say with sincerity that there hasn’t been another experience in my life that has made me feel more grown up than this. It’s a feeling I’ve been running away from since I was a teenager, but I’m seeing now that growing up isn’t like dropping a bomb on the life I have. I can still have fun and be an immature, heavy metal lunatic…

…as long as the bills get paid.

Leave a comment